English  Chinese  

Video Samples

Primavera -Beautiful Mountain Winds
Satoshi Yagisawa


Primavera was commissioned for the 40th Anniversary of Kofu Community Band and premiered in spring of 2008. The commissioning request was that the work would reflect both the beautiful nature of Yamanashi Prefecture and bonds the band shared through four decades of history.

I always visit rehearsals and meet band members when accepting a commission so that the piece will be relevant and meaningful to the band. When I visited Kofu Community Band they were rehearsing one of my works, Hymn to the Sun - With the Beat of Mother Earth, and the members played with such emotion from bottom of their hearts that I was deeply moved. I shared a story of the work's inspiration, and some started to cry. I was impressed with how sincere and bright those performers in Kofu Community Band were. Mr. Fujio Ando, associate leader of the band, with a big smile told me that he wished their new work would be widely enjoyed and appreciated by many music lovers. (Satoshi Yagisawa)

Fl 1, Fl2 (Piccolo), Ob (option),Bsn (option), Bb Cl(1-2), B.Cl, A.Sax, T.Sax, B.Sax, Trpt1,Trpt2(Fl.hrn), F Hrn(1-2), Trb(1-2), Euph,Tuba, St.Bass (option), Timp, Tri, Perc1 Chimes/Mari/C.Cym/Whip/Glock/W.Chimes), Perc2 (Vib/Sus.Cym/W.Chimes/Gong/B.Dr), Perc3 (Mari/B.Dr/C.Cym/Sus.Cym/S.Dr)

Duration 7:30
Grade 5

**Reference recordings: BOCD-7195 "Ma Mere l'Oye- New Collection for Smaller Bands", BOCD-7334A "Music of Satoshi Yagisawa/ Zenith of Maya"

Add to Cart:

  • Model: ZOMA-A037S

This product was added to our catalog on Wednesday 29 June, 2011.